Mysore Chat street, Always an open arm welcome to us foodies :)


After a while the visits to the so called plush hotels, the well behaved and extremely well dressed people to take the order and speaking some excellent English tends to get a little boring and the truth probably is that it is more fun to get on the footpath for some good old fashioned masala puri and churmuri and what better place in Mysore than the famous Chat street to try it all out?!

 

The visit to the chat street always gives me so much to add to the savouries of food and when I dare open a topic like the Mysore Hangouts in the blog, it makes little sense for me not to talk about the most famous chat street here. I must confess I haven’t really visited the chat streets in other cities, so my comparison may be a little unilateral and in comparison to the hotels around.

 

Coming to talk about the chat street, its definitely for the people who just love to try out the different foods and are not really fidgety or overly cautious. The taste is definitely unquestionable, I have found myself at a safer zone not questioning how it is made and thinking about the concerns that a roadside eatery promises 😉 . Well the chat street parallel to the Devraj Urs road offers a lot to the foodies, specially if you are a spice food buff, you ought to love it here. One specialty of the chat street is I believe the ‘Dry Gobi’. I have never really tasted the dry gobi like this anywhere. Of all the places I have been to and I have been to quite a few to talk about it, this still qualifies to be the best among them. The cooking style is a little different than the other chat centres, the taste maintains the spice and the lemon just adds to the flavour. It is much unlike the regular stores which makes both the usual Manchurian and the dry one with the same raw material, the whole process undergoes a little change here and also the taste. This particular dish must be a must try if you ever check this place out. Apart from this you could find a Chinese stall. The soups are quite excellent here and you get to customize it for the amount of spiciness you would love to have.  I would still refrain from ordering the Babycorn Manchurian though, it turns out I am not too fond of that one particular dish cooked here. The chopsuey is also quite a nice savoury to try out here and they do a decent job with that.

 

The conventional parts are  very well taken care of.  The usual Masala puri and Mysore have a very special connection and in most places the Masala puri is still a very good chat to hang on to. Not many spoil this delicacy here and again the chat street is no exception. But I would still say that the best Masala Puri I have had is in the Gandhi square near to the RRR hotel. The churmuri too is something which never misses a mark in Mysore and the Chat Street too is no exception again. The tomato slice takes a higher rating in my book in the churmuri stall, the spice and the puri on the top of a tomato slice always has a great meaning to the tummy.

For me, it is a habit to end the chat street hang out with a sweet and a cold dish in my mouth. The Falooda followed by a Badan Shiekh seem to be the best dessert I can have. I would still rate this one higher than the Bombay Tiffany’s Badam milk. Infact I would rate the sheikh the best Badam milk I have ever tried.It always gives such a wonderful feeling that too after a spicy treat to ourselves, what better than ending it with a dessert which I am quite frankly a lot proud of :).

Well that’s probably a short view of how it is in the chat street. It has a whole lot of dishes, for those who want a view of the pakka local Mysore, for those real foodies who just love food for the sake of food, there always is room in the chat street. And of course price is never much of an issue or concern trying out the food here. For the real treat of Mysore, this sure rates as one of the must visit spots.

 

PS::

Location:

Parallel to Devraj Urs Road,

Behind Marimallappa’s college,

Rotary school road

 

However please do make sure that you park on a different road, the traffic police are a little too fond of the people who park in the chat street ;).

12 thoughts on “Mysore Chat street, Always an open arm welcome to us foodies :)

  1. debajyoti says:

    i think this chat street featured in one of the episodes of highway in my plates. next time i visit mysore, i will try this place for sure 🙂

  2. Chaat street? Really? It’s called that? Why hadn’t I heard of that? Gosh…how long has this place been popular. I’m checking this place out on my trip later this year. That’s for sure.
    There’s nothing like roadside chaat. And I swear the chaat in Mysore is better than the ones in Bangalore.
    Did you just remind me of RRR? Hmm… Vinay, Now I’m craving for some RRR biryani. 🙂

    • You didnt know? It has always been famous under this name. It has existed right from the time I was a kid… The history goes long long ago 🙂 ..

      Cool you’d love the chats here for sure. And yea I totally agree Blr chats are in no way close to the Mysore ones, espescially they add the little sweetness they’ve copied from the kolkata style.. Can’t beat the Mysore one 🙂 …

      Ha ha.. Yea RRR still retains the authentic Biryaani taste.. Now that you remind me of it, it has been a while since I visited there 😉 ..

  3. nice, your popularizing our dear old Mysore through your lovely posts 🙂
    Yeah, chat street is a nice hang out place. I love the big kulfis they sell there. And I’ve not tasted dry gobi in the chat street but for my the best dry gobi is always available at Amruth Gobi Center. 🙂
    And I agree with you Vinay, The kind of chats we get here is no where found any where else.

    • Thank You Neha 🙂 .. Yea The Kulfis too are a grand treat here..

      I used to be a fan of the Amruth Gobi too, but you ought to try the one here. It is very different from that one. And tastier too 🙂 ..

  4. Hi

    My previous visits to Mysore were as a kid and then once after my marriage and not one soul told me about this Chat Street. God! That would have been on top of my itinerary. Thanks for sharing. I am at work and your mention of Dry Gobhi and Falooda have put my taste buds into the summit of craving sensations 🙂

    • Ha ha.. Spoken like a true chat fan 🙂 .. It sure is THE place and as Deb mentioned above, it did figure in the Highway on plate program too.. So you did miss out on something.. 😉 ..

  5. Nithin says:

    Namaskara,

    That’s cool.!!! Such a shame that I have been to Mysore zillion times and I have never come across this. My girl always craves for such typical south Indian street food with flavor of its own. Thanks for this. I am visiting Mysore this weekend and will surely take her there. 🙂

    Also could anyone suggest me such place for non-veg as well. 😉

    Dhanyavadagalu

Leave a comment