Dark Knight rises 2012 : : Movie review


Wow! Where do I start?! It perhaps would be very difficult to write review on this movie. Everytime I wrote a review, it was pretty straight forward, identify the goods, identify the bads and there we have a review. But with Dark Knight and Christopher Nolan it has been a little more difficult cos the bads are very hard to come by.

The movie breathes brilliance in every scene of it. Ever walk into a local movie theatre and see people screaming and whistling at the scenes? It kinda rekindled the same feeling today but the difference was that it was a classy theatre and a good crowd with a great taste for movies and of course housefull but there sure was the cheers, the shouts, the claps all through the movie. It is very hard to take your eyes off the screen lest we miss something out.

The entire crew deserves a standing ovation and especially Nolan for the way he has taken this movie through. The fans of Dark knight would know how brilliant that movie was. Going from there, we can imagine how much a challenge Dark Knight rises would have been. When a standard is set and the standard is Dark Knight, the next step is obviously very hard, to make a movie better than that. Dark knight rises definitely rises to this challenge and the entire movie keeps the viewer in a total trance.

Right from the very initial scene where the villain makes a threatening entry to the last where the director manages to bring in a brilliant climax which takes the viewing experience to a whole new level the movie dazzles the viewer. The music compilation is extraordinary and every scene deserves the music it gets in the background. The music does convey the whole message of the scene and I have not seen a better implementation of the music and the choreography in any other movie. The actors have done a lot of justice to the movie and there is not even one on whom I could point my fingers for a shortcoming. The villain – Tom Hardy outclasses the joker in his own very way, the introduction of a new character through Anne Hathaway– the cat woman, the charm of Christian Bale, everything fits in so well to make this movie an amazing experience.

The movie stays true to its expectations, in fact it goes beyond the expectations and the whole experience goes to a whole new level after all. In the first ten minutes I was in the theatre I was wondering how on earth I could write a review about it. There is so much to talk about in this movie and each of those details has been worked out in such a beautiful manner. I know that I am all praise for the movie, it is not just because I am a big fan but its because I can’t find the mistakes in the movie. It is simply too brilliant. Asking as to what genre I can put it in? I could say inspirational, I could say action, I could say thrilling or maybe use some more adjectives. One thing I can certainly say is that this movie does more than entertain you for the 2 odd hours in the theatre. I would not say it is a must watch movie. I would rather say, it would be a crime against oneself if one chooses to ignore this one. Rise us from your homes guys for this movie certainly tells you as to what a good cinema means.

Kudos to a great job for the Dark Knight Rises crew. It simply is a brilliant movie. And regarding the rating, I would easily rate it a perfect 10 over 5 πŸ™‚ .

PS: I cant help but consider a second visit to the theatre today. I caught the first day first show and I want to catch one more on the same day. How crazy is that? Blame the director for such a great movie. Take a bow Christopher Nolan, Take a bow πŸ™‚

30 thoughts on “Dark Knight rises 2012 : : Movie review

  1. Avinash Goud says:

    Very nice review.. No Need to refer to newspaper review articles.

    Nvr gottu knw dat u r actively blogging..
    Anyways nw i m following Mukta Manasu πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Sushir.. Do let me know your take on the movie.. The dark knight rises indeed.. And my warmest welcome to muktamanassu πŸ™‚

  2. Just saw the movie tonight! When I saw the previews I was very disappointed Anne Hathaway was chosen as Cat Woman. And parts of her character really annoyed me tonight. My friends really thought it dragged at times, I didn’t think it dragged or was slow-but I was expecting more action or more explained maybe. I am disappointed to never see Bane’s face, and by the “plot twist”, which I randomly saw coming earlier even though I am not familiar with the Bane storyline. I do think Anne Hathaway did a much better job than I expected-just not a huge fan of her as an actress.

    • Thanks Christina πŸ™‚ ..

      Yea, it sure seems like you don’t fancy Hathaway. I do agree that her role was a little limited. But I guess maybe they are keeping it for the next one.. I can’t wait to see how it goes with Robin and Cat woman coming in as a part of the next one if they are planning πŸ™‚

      • haha Everytime I think of her I think Princess Diaries. I totally didn’t see the Robin thing coming! Can’t wait to see what happens next- I really liked him as an actor and his character.

      • He he πŸ˜€ yea even i had no idea abt the robin part! I was hoping he wouldnt come to be the replacement batman. The moment i saw the name robin that very moment was quite an experience πŸ™‚

  3. mithil293 says:

    good review vinay .. although i like to differ on the point of comparison between joker and bane. Joker was insanely wild … epitome of evil. But Bane for me was little relaxed in the second half considering the very low number of dialogues he has got

    • Thank you Mithil.. I hope you loved the movie πŸ™‚ .. Yea Heath did a great job with his smile.. Prolly it was all that fighting which made me think that bane was an equivalent villain..

      But I must give it to you, joker did have the best dialogues, even now I cant stop myself from completing the sentences whenever I see that movie πŸ™‚

  4. Just saw The Dark Knight Rises over the weekend. I still think that TDK is the best of the trilogy because the acting. Heath Ledger’s Joker beats Tom Hardy’s Bane by a mile. Christian Bale continues as an ok Batman, but I do not like the Nolan’s series because of him. And let’s not forget Aaron Eckhart as Dent/Two Face.

    • Well TDK sure was a great movie. But I would still stand by the dark knight rises. I think it was a very challenging ordeal to come up with something as a response to a movie as great as TDK. I think they did a fair job with TDKR. But like you said, I cant take anything away from TDk. Whenever it plays on the TV, I make sure to turn up the volume and get rid of all disturbances πŸ™‚

  5. Good One, TDKR sort of connects the dots. Everything comes a full circle .. Alfred, Lucius Fox, Gotham City, league of Shadows, Bruce Wayne and Batman himself.

    I say, it’s movies like these that justifies the invention of big screen and the popcorn πŸ™‚

    • Ha ha! I couldn’t have put it better. Its definitely movies like these which justify the popcorn! Very cleverly put Jaynath πŸ™‚ . And regarding the movie, i am contemplating writing a review when I see it again πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  6. AndyK says:

    I liked this, but Bane was the big let down. Tom Hardy is an accomplished actor, but here he never really convinced me which is a shame because I really enjoyed pretty much every other aspect – this coming from a comic-inspired movie cynic! Great review though Vinay!

    • Thanks so much Andy..

      Yea probably Heath had set up a brilliant standard for all the villains. Quite hard to come close to an actor like him I believe :)…

      Hearing this from a critic, I think Nolan would be quite proud πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

